

Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee

Held at the Civic Centre, Civic Drive, Greensborough on Tuesday 20 March 2018.

Minutes

Mark Stoermer Chief Executive Officer

Thursday 22 March 2018

Distribution: Public

Civic Drive, Greensborough PO Box 476, Greensborough 3088 Telephone 9433 3111 Facsimile 9433 3777 Website www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au Email nillumbik@nillumbik.vic.gov.au



Nillumbik Shire Council

	Contents					
1.	Welcome and apologies	1				
2.	Disclosure of conflicts of interest	1				
3.	Confirmation of minutes	1				
4.	Officers' report	2				
Fina	ance and Governance Portfolio					
FN.	006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales	2				

Nillumbik Shire Council

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee held Tuesday 20 March 2018. The meeting commenced at 5.30pm.

Councillors present:

Cr Peter Clarke Wingrove Ward (Mayor)

Cr Grant Brooker
Cr Karen Egan
Cr John Dumaresq
Cr Jane Ashton
Cr Bruce Ranken

Blue Lake Ward
Bunjil Ward
Edendale Ward
Sugarloaf Ward
Swipers Gully Ward

Officers in attendance:

Mark Stoermer Chief Executive Officer

Adrian Cully
Matt Kelleher
Hjalmar Philipp
Blaga Naumoski
Jon Miller
Director Business and Strategy
Director Services and Planning
Director Sustainability and Place
Executive Manager Governance
Manager Assets and Property

Mitch Grayson Chief of staff to the Mayor and Councillors

1. Welcome and apologies

Cr Peter Perkins was an apology to the meeting.

Council Resolution

Moved: Cr John Dumaresq Seconded: Cr Karen Egan

That Cr Peter Perkins' apology be accepted.

CARRIED

2. Disclosure of conflicts of interest

Nil

3. Confirmation of minutes

Nil

FN.006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

Portfolio: Finance and Governance

Distribution: Public

Manager: Hjalmar Philipp, Director Sustainability and Place

Author: Jon Miller, Manager Assets and Property

Summary

At the Ordinary Meeting of Council on 30 January 2018, Council considered the details of 17 parcels of land (including 2 road discontinuances) that are being proposed for future sale.

At that meeting, Council resolved to:

- Commence the necessary public notification process required under the *Local Government Act 1989* (the Act) and publicly advertise its intention to:
 - sell 15 parcels of Council owned land
 - discontinue two roads and sell the land; and
- In accordance with section 223 of the Act, consider any submissions on the proposed land sales and road discontinuances at a Special Future Nillumbik Committee meeting.

The required public consultation period closed on 12 March 2018. Five Special Future Nillumbik Committee meetings have been organised so that Council can hear those submitters who wish to speak on behalf of their submission. Meetings have been allocated to hear submitters for specific properties. There are two additional opportunities for submitters to be heard. For those that made submissions of a general nature, this will be on Tuesday 3 April 2018, and any overflow will be heard on Thursday 5 April 2018.

The purpose of this meeting is to allow those people that made a submission to the proposed sale of 62 Frank Street, Eltham, 1307 Main Road, Eltham, 26 Renshaw Drive, Eltham and 12 The Eyrie, Eltham to address members of the Special Committee of Council. Council is required to take into consideration the contents of all submissions received, prior to making a final decision on the proposed sale of the subject properties.

The summary table in Attachment 1 outlines the total number of public submissions received on the matter (as of 12 March); the number of submissions opposing and supporting the land sales program in general and for the individual parcels that are the subject of this report.

Speakers:

The following people addressed the Committee with respect to each item:

62 Frank Street, Eltham

- 1. Melanie Birch
- 2. Sharon Bonga
- 3. Jane Boyle
- 4. Simone Cusack

FN.006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

- 5. Bianca Denny
- 6. Natalie Duffy
- 7. Andrew Evans
- 8. Graham Fildes
- 9. John Graves
- 10. Christian Kuhlmann
- 11. Alison Lee
- 12. Lacey Martin
- 13. Shane Martin
- 14. Catherine McLardy
- 15. John Melocco
- 16. Isabel Nalato
- 17. Anne Nielsen
- 18. Johanes Gregory
- 19. (lan) Peter Roberts
- 20. Sophie Shabbir
- 21. Cassandra Sparkes
- 22. Katie Stackhouse
- 23. Dale Stanbrough
- 24. Grace Turner
- 25. Ben Turner on behalf of Nillumbik Environmental Action Group
- 26. Martin Verhoeven
- 27. Faye Williams
- 28. John Winkett
- 29. David Sweeney
- 30. David Sweeney on behalf of Graeme Sweeney
- 31. Russell Yeoman

1307 Main Road, Eltham

- 1. Sharon Bonga
- 2. Jill Chan
- 3. Natalie Duffy
- 4. Andrew Evans
- 5. David Sweeney
- 6. John Fecondo

FN.006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

- 7. Michael Krause
- 8. Christian Kuhlmann
- 9. Isabel Nalato
- 10. Catherine Russell
- 11. Lauri Widdup
- 12. Faye Williams
- 13. John Graves
- 14. Russell Yeoman

26 Renshaw Drive, Eltham

- 1. Sharon Bonga
- 2. Natalie Duffy
- 3. Louise Dixon on behalf of Margaret Jennings
- 4. Christian Kuhlmann
- 5. Michael Krause
- 6. Isabel Nalato
- 7. Alistair Smith
- 8. Gregory Snow
- 9. Simone Cusack
- 10. Jennifer Ambridge

12 The Eyrie, Eltham

- 1. Sharon Bonga
- 2. Natalie Duffy
- 3. Andrew Evans
- 4. Lyn Frazer on behalf of John Frazer
- 5. Lyn Frazer
- 6. David Hulett
- 7. Sarah Krug
- 8. Christian Kuhlmann
- 9. Dr Andrew G.F. Lemon
- 10. Dr Andrew G.F. Lemon on behalf of Geoff Lemon
- 11. Isabel Nalato
- 12. Ave Romeo
- 13. Lauri Widdup
- 14. Linda Russell

FN.006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

- 15. Russell Yeoman
- 16. Hans Gregory
- 17. Sophie Shabbir
- 18. Simone Cusack
- 19. Vicki Ward

The Chairperson, Mayor Cr. Clarke temporarily adjourned the meeting at 7.32pm and resumed at 7.50pm

Mitch Grayson, temporarily left the meeting during submissions at 9.06pm and returned at 9.07pm.

Jon Miller temporarily left the meeting during submissions at 9.30pm and returned at 9.40pm.

The Chairperson, Mayor Cr. Clarke temporarily adjourned the meeting at 9.40pm and resumed at 9.47pm

Cr Jane Ashton temporarily left the meeting during submissions at 9.48pm and returned at 9.50pm.

Motion to Extend the Meeting

In accordance with the Meeting Procedure Local Law, Clause 2.1, an Ordinary or Special Committee must not continue after 10.30pm unless a majority of Councillors present vote in favour of the meeting continuing.

As a formal resolution of the Special Future Nillumbik Committee Meeting held earlier in the evening, it was resolved that the Committee meeting continue past 10:30pm.

Committee Resolution

Moved: Cr. Egan Seconded: Cr. Brooker

That the Council meeting continue after 10:05pm for 30 minutes.

CARRIED

Committee Resolution

Moved: Cr John Dumaresq Seconded: Cr Karen Egan

That the Committee (acting under delegation from Council):

- 1. Acknowledges and considers public submissions specifically received on the intention to sell:
 - 62 Frank Street, Eltham
 - 1307 Main Road, Eltham

FN.006/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

- 26 Renshaw Drive, Eltham
- 12 The Eyrie, Eltham
- 2. Requests a further report to be presented at a future Ordinary Meeting of Council regarding the consideration of submissions in accordance with section 223(1)(c) of the *Local Government Act 1989*.

CARRIED

Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee minutes

20 March 2018

The meeting of	closed at 11.05pm.		
Confirmed:		 _	
	Cr Peter Clarke, Mayor		