

# **Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee**

to be held at the Civic Centre, Civic Drive, Greensborough on Thursday 5 April 2018 commencing at 5.30pm.

# **Minutes**

Mark Stoermer Chief Executive Officer

Monday 9 April 2018

Distribution: Public

Civic Drive, Greensborough PO Box 476, Greensborough 3088 Telephone 9433 3111 Facsimile 9433 3777 Website <a href="www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au">www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au</a> Email <a href="mailto:nillumbik.vic.gov.au">nillumbik.vic.gov.au</a>



# **Nillumbik Shire Council**

Contents			
1.	Welcome and apologies	1	
2.	Disclosure of conflicts of interest	1	
3.	Confirmation of minutes	1	
4.	Officers' report		
Fin	ance and Governance Portfolio		
FN.009/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sale		2	

### **Nillumbik Shire Council**

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee held Thursday 5 April 2018. The meeting commenced at 5.35pm.

### **Councillors present:**

Cr Peter Clarke Wingrove Ward (Mayor)

Cr Grant Brooker
Cr Karen Egan
Cr John Dumaresq
Cr Peter Perkins
Cr Jane Ashton
Blue Lake Ward
Bunjil Ward
Edendale Ward
Ellis Ward
Sugarloaf Ward

Cr Jane Ashton Sugarloaf Ward Cr Bruce Ranken Swipers Gully Ward

#### Officers in attendance:

Mark Stoermer Chief Executive Officer

Hjalmar Philipp Director Sustainability and Place
Blaga Naumoski Executive Manager Governance
Jon Miller Manager Assets and Property

Mitch Grayson Chief of Staff to Mayor and Councillors

# 1. Welcome and apologies

An apology was received from Cr Jane Ashton.

# **Committee Resolution**

Moved Cr Grant Brooker Seconded Cr Karen Egan

That Cr Jane Ashton's apology be accepted.

**CARRIED** 

#### 2. Disclosure of conflicts of interest

Nil

#### 3. Confirmation of minutes

Nil

# 4. Officers' report

FN.009/18 Funding major infrastructure projects through surplus asset sales

Portfolio: Finance and Governance

**Distribution: Public** 

Manager: Hjalmar Philipp, Director Sustainability and Place

Author: Jon Miller, Manager Assets and Property

#### Summary

At the Ordinary Meeting of Council on 30 January 2018, Council considered the details of 17 parcels of land (including two road discontinuances) that are being proposed for future sale.

At that meeting, Council resolved to:

- Commence the necessary public notification process required under the *Local Government Act 1989* (the Act) and publicly advertise its intention to:
  - sell 15 parcels of Council owned land
  - o discontinue two roads and sell the land; and
- In accordance with section 223 of the Act, consider any submissions on the proposed land sales and road discontinuances at a Special Future Nillumbik Committee meeting.

The required public consultation period closed on 12 March 2018. Five Special Future Nillumbik Committee meetings were organised so that Council could hear those submitters who wish to speak on behalf of their submission. These meetings have been allocated to hear submitters for specific properties. Two additional opportunities for submitters to be heard have been provided. For those that made submissions of a general nature, these were heard on Tuesday 3 April 2018. The purpose of this final meeting is to provide the opportunity for people to speak on behalf of their submission for a specific property or on general land sales that have not already done so at a previous committee meeting held.

Council is required to take into consideration the contents of all submissions received, prior to making a final decision on the proposed sale of the subject properties.

The summary table in Attachment 1 outlines the total number of public submissions received on the matter (as of 12 March); the number of submissions opposing and supporting the land sales program in general and for the individual parcels.

#### **Speakers**

The following people addressed the Committee:

- 1. Svetlana Ryzhikh
- 2. Robert Allen
- 3. Carolyn Amey
- 4. Christie Benz
- 5. Tobias Benz
- 6. Adrian Birch
- 7. Helen Coleman
- 8. Olga Craigie

# **Special Meeting of Future Nillumbik Committee minutes**

5 April 2018

- 9. Natalie Duffy on behalf of Adam Kilcullen and Wendy Kilcullen
- 10. Lucy Empson
- 11. Laurie Niven on behalf of Jenniy Gregory
- 12. Marie Hearn
- 13. Sandy Matthews
- 14. Mary McDonald
- 15. Brian Murray
- 16. Brian Murray on behalf of Nillumbik Ratepayers Association
- 17. Jenny Oldfield
- 18. Jens Pelka
- 19. Simone Cusack on behalf of Allison Quinn
- 20. Lara Tarrant
- 21. Atticus Tarrant
- 22. John Winkett
- 23. Merilyn Yates
- 24. Jonathan Corran
- 25. Andrew Evans
- 26. Rebecca Naim
- 27. Les Vasilevski
- 28. Hans Gregory on behalf of Stuart Sinclair
- 29. Isabel Nalato
- 30. David Mullholland
- 31. The Chairperson, Cr Peter Clarke read a written submission on behalf of Oscar Harris and Jessica Harris

The meeting closed at 8.18pm.			
Confirmed:			
	Cr Peter Clarke Mayor		

Mark Stoermer temporarily left the meeting at 6.41pm and returned at 6.50pm.

Mitch Grayson temporarily left the meeting at 6.54pm and returned at 6.55pm.

The Chairperson, Mayor Cr. Clarke temporarily adjourned the meeting at 7.11pm and resumed at 7.16pm.