

Special Meeting of Council

held at the Civic Centre, Civic Drive, Greensborough on Tuesday 8 November 2016.

Minutes

Stuart Burdack Chief Executive Officer

Wednesday 9 November 2016

Distribution: Public

Civic Drive, Greensborough PO Box 476, Greensborough 3088 Telephone 9433 3111 Facsimile 9433 3777 Website www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au Email nillumbik@nillumbik.vic.gov.au



Nillumbik Shire Council

Contents				
1.	Welcome	1		
2.	Reconciliation statement	1		
3.	Oath/affirmation of office and Code of Conduct declaration for Councillors	1		
4.	Councillors' address to the gallery	2		
5.	Appointment of acting Chairperson	2		
6.	Election of Mayor	2		
7.	Election of Deputy Mayor	2		
8.	Appointment of special committees	2		
9.	Appointment of Policy and Services Committee Chairperson	3		
10.	Appointment of Planning Committee Chairperson	3		
11.	Council and Committee meeting schedule for 2017	3		

Nillumbik Shire Council

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Nillumbik Shire Council held Tuesday 8 November 2016. The meeting commenced at 7.02pm.

Councillors present:

Cr Grant Brooker
Cr Karen Egan
Cr John Dumaresq
Cr Peter Perkins

Blue Lake Ward
Bunjil Ward
Edendale Ward
Ellis Ward

Cr Jane Ashton Sugarloaf Ward
Cr Bruce Ranken Swipers Gully Ward
Cr Peter Clarke Wingrove Ward

Officers in attendance:

Stuart Burdack Chief Executive Officer

Pauline Gordon General Manager Community and Leisure Andrew Port General Manager Corporate Services

Ransce Salan General Manager Environment and Planning Conal Creedon General Manager Infrastructure Services Manager Governance and Communications

Joanne Hammond Coordinator Communications

1. Welcome

2. Reconciliation statement

The reconciliation statement was read by the Chief Executive Officer, Stuart Burdack.

3. Oath/affirmation of office and Code of Conduct declaration for Councillors

In accordance with section 63(1) of the *Local Government Act 1989* Councillors-elect are required to take the Oath or Affirmation of Office and to read the Councillor Code of Conduct and make a declaration stating they will abide by the Code of Conduct before they are capable of acting as a Councillor.

Oath of office

Crs Grant Brooker, Karen Egan, Peter Perkins and Peter Clarke took the Oath of office.

'I swear by Almighty God that I will undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people in the municipal district of Nillumbik and faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the *Local Government Act 1989* or any other Act to the best of my skill and judgment.'

Affirmation of office

Crs John Dumaresq, Jane Ashton and Bruce Ranken took the Affirmation of office.

'I, solemnly and sincerely declare and affirm that I will undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people in the municipal district of Nillumbik and faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the *Local Government Act 1989* or any other Act to the best of my skill and judgment.'

Code of Conduct declaration

Crs Grant Brooker, Karen Egan, Peter Perkins, Jane Ashton, John Dumaresq, Bruce Ranken and Peter Clarke each signed a written declaration that they had read and would abide by the Code of Conduct adopted by Council on 24 May 2016.

4. Councillors' address to the gallery

Councillors thanked families, friends and supporters, and spoke of their aims and objectives as a Councillor.

5. Appointment of acting Chairperson

The Chief Executive Officer called for a motion to appoint an acting Chairperson.

Cr Peter Clarke nominated Cr Peter Perkins. No other nominations were received and Cr Peter Perkins assumed the Chair.

6. Election of Mayor

The acting Chairperson Cr Peter Perkins called for nominations for the office of Mayor.

Motion	
--------	--

Cr Bruce Ranken

Cr Karen Egan

That Cr Peter Clarke be elected Mayor of Nillumbik Shire Council for a term of one year.

No other nominations were received, Cr Peter Clarke was declared elected as Mayor

The acting Chairperson, Cr Peter Perkins vacated the Chair and the Mayor, Cr Peter Clarke assumed the Chair.

7. Election of Deputy Mayor

The Mayor, Cr Peter Clarke called for nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor.

Motion	

Cr Jane Ashton

Cr Peter Perkins

That Cr Karen Egan be elected Deputy Mayor of Nillumbik Shire Council for a term of one year.

No other nominations were received, Cr Karen Egan was declared elected as Deputy Mayor.

8. Appointment of special committees

Council, in accordance with section 86 of the *Local Government Act 1989* may establish one or more special committees and delegate to the committee certain of its functions, duties or powers.

Council currently has two committees established under section 86:

- Policy and Services Committee to consider matters of a policy and services nature.
- Planning Committee to consider planning applications.

Ordinary Meeting of Council minutes

8 November 2016

Council must appoint Councillors to each of these committees as well as appoint a Councillor to act as Chairperson (item 9 and 10 of agenda).

The following membership is recommended for each committee:

Special committee	Membership
Policy and Services Committee	All Councillors
Planning Committee	All Councillors

Motion

Cr Grant Brooker

Cr John Dumaresq

That Council appoints all Councillors to the Policy and Services Committee and the Planning Committee.

CARRIED

9. Appointment of Policy and Services Committee Chairperson

The Mayor called for nominations for the Chairperson of the Policy and Services Committee.

Motion

Cr Karen Egan

Cr Bruce Ranken

That Council appoints Cr Peter Clarke as interim Chairperson of the Policy and Services Committee until Council resolves otherwise.

No other nominations were received, Cr Peter Clarke was declared elected as interim Chairperson of the Policy and Services Committee.

10. Appointment of Planning Committee Chairperson

The Mayor called for nominations for the Chairperson of the Planning Committee.

Motion

Cr John Dumaresq

Cr Grant Brooker

That Council appoints Cr Peter Clarke as interim Chairperson of the Planning Committee until Council resolves otherwise.

No other nominations were received, Cr Peter Clarke was declared elected as interim Chairperson of the Planning Committee.

11. Council and Committee meeting schedule for 2017

The arrangements for the meeting cycle will be as follows:

- Meetings will occur on Tuesday nights throughout the year unless otherwise notified.
- The Policy and Services Committee and the Planning Committee will be held on the same evening, usually on the second Tuesday of each month.

- The Policy and Services Committee will commence first at 7pm with the Planning Committee to follow.
- Ordinary Meetings of Council will commence at 7pm, usually on the fourth Tuesday of each month.
- Unless otherwise notified, meetings will be held at the Civic Centre, Civic Drive, Greensborough.
- At least one week of each school holidays has been left free of meetings.

The following meeting schedule is proposed for 2017.

Special Council meeting	Special Committee meeting	Ordinary Council meeting
	-	31 January
14 February (to review Code of Conduct)	14 February	28 February
	14 March	28 March
	18 April	2 May
	16 May	30 May
	13 June	27 June
	18 July	1 August
	15 August	29 August
	12 September	26 September
Monday 30 October (to elect Mayor)	17 October	31 October
	14 November	28 November
	12 December	19 December

Motion

Cr Karen Egan Cr Jane Ashton

That Council:

- 1. Adopts the Council and Special Committee meeting schedule as per the table above for the 2017 calendar year.
- 2. Advertises the meeting schedule.

CARRIED

Special Meeting of Council minutes	8 November 2016
The meeting closed at 7.55pm.	
Confirmed:	

Cr Peter Clarke, Mayor